Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Can't help myself...

I really planned to blip a bee today, just to round out my Pollinator Week challenge, but the hummingbirds won me over.  In about a month, these showy males will start leaving, one by one, headed for Mexico.  Right now there are four males hanging around, in addition to the females and youngsters, fattening up for their long journey.  They chatter almost constantly and pause momentarily to hover in place, before tearing off in pursuit of a rival.  

More butterflies are slowly starting to appear, including a fresh Giant Swallowtail who briefly stopped in the phlox patch.  There were also several Eastern Tiger Swallowtails, a Monarch and one spicebush swallowtail.  

The morning started with heavy rain, bringing in a very welcome cool front.  The rest of the day was glorious and I spent much of it out in the garden.

I'm still staying one step ahead of the raccoons, although they did topple one plant on the deck last night.  No sign of Mama bear and the cubs, thankfully.  

I found more monarch eggs in the garden last night so brought them all in.  I've decided to take one egg and keep it separated so that I can follow it's progress from egg to butterfly, recording each step.  That means you'll be seeing a lot of monarch blips for the next month or so; consider yourself warned.

Good visit with MIL today.  She was physically stronger than she's been for the last few days so we did a bit more walking than usual.  She was in good spirits, although complains of being "bored".  One of the horrid things about dementia is simply not remembering what one did a minute, an hour, a day ago.  When I tell her that she played bingo, or sang songs or played table-ball, she has no recollection.  But, while she's engaged in those things, she's having a great time - it's all about creating moments.

Well, enough rambling.  Hope everyone is headed for a good week.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.