Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yardbird # 45 - Worm Eating Warbler

What an apt name for a warbler since they all love tiny worms, larvae and caterpillars.  And what a delight for me to see this somewhat elusive warbler right in my butterfly garden this afternoon!  I was photographing hummers in the lobelia when I caught a flash of motion and spotted this beauty perched on a redcedar branch in my garden.  I was able to snap exactly one burst (6 shots) before he/she flew into the cherry tree.  Happily, my settings were okay and the only thing I had to do to this was remove one distracting twig and crop it.

Then, I went back to more hummies, training for the AOG as well as a snowberry clearwing moth, also in training for the AOG in the pollen-snogging category.  

We are officially in a heat wave having now surpassed 3 consecutive days where the temps were over 90 F.  It's really like a sauna outside, very unpleasant for woman, birds, and beasts.  I've put out extra water for all the critters, including a little dish under the deck for Thor the Toad.

A heat wave, however, was no deterrent to the bluebirds.  After much calling and cajoling, all three babies fledged the nest (I missed seeing it, but when I checked early afternoon, they were all gone).  Feeling a little sad that their nesting season is over for the year, but also so thrilled that I got to observe two broods being raised.  

Meanwhile, I was able to get one fairly crappy picture of the little wrens with my cell phone this morning.  It's very difficult shooting in the box because it is filled nearly to the top with twigs and feathers, making it hard to see the youngsters.  But, if you look closely at the photo in Extra, you'll see some little naked wrens...   There are several active catbird nests around the property too, so its not really a good time to be an insect...

Thank you so very much for sending my skimming skimmers to the pops page, and thank you also for the all the love on my yakking hummer yesterday.  


Cheers,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.