Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Back to Work

After a fortnight off it was time to don the work clothes and head back into the office.  Back to 250 new emails of which almost 2/3rds were deleted without the need to take any action.  I remember the days when internal communications came via memo (if you are old enough to remember!) and if you got 10 a week it was a miracle.

I once suggested an email free day in the office, only to be scoffed at by the then deputy chief executive.  I've come to realise that they are mainly used to send instructions without the need to discuss things first, or to cover one's back.  I won't say they are not a useful means of communication, but they are over utilised and abused.  I make it a point to actually go and talk to people around the office and I reckon I get a lot more done that way.  The only irritation is when I have agreed something with a colleague only for the mantra 'can you just confirm that in an email!"  Argh!

Anyway by the afternoon I'd worn out the delete button on my keyboard so when the opportunity to make a visit off site offered itself, I took advantage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.