Present Links with Past

This composite image started with my visit to Kensal Green Cemetery last Friday - one of the garden cemeteries created for London when the city graveyards could not cope.I am interested in the links between past and present and fascinated by the stories within cemeteries which are full of people that have lived! I did not have long for my visit but found the atmosphere very moving - I will return.

Then on Sunday evening I was rehearsing with my choir in preparation for a concert tour we are doing in the south of France towards the end of August.  Our conductor had composed a piece of music which is a mixture of 'present' and 'past' as he has mixed his own composition with music by Orlando Gibbons (1583-1625) and words from Psalm 130 and his own poetry; he is very talented!

The overall effect, mixing very modern with very old, was immensely powerful and I was transported back to my walk through Kensal Green and almost in tears.  When we had sung it through a few times and got the measure of it, we were all overwhelmed by its message and the emotion created.  We will definitely include it in the repertoire for the French Tour, especially given the dedication for those who died in the recent Nice attack; a bit more rehearsal time necessary though to get it up to performance level.

It has taken a while to put the image together this evening and I will probably see improvements once I press the 'go' button, but it fits well with Skeena's Mono Monday theme of Links

De Profundis is Latin for 'out of the depths' and comes from the translation of Psalm 130 from the original Hebrew.  Language is complicated!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.