The Way of Colour

By Beachcomber149

Intense

21C and feeling warm, but there is a breeze. Thin cloud layer but plenty of blue to be seen.

Drier down the bridle path today. Thank you breeze and dry morning, no soaking trousers today!
Still no wildlife to be seen other than a butterfly or two. Once across the level crossing and onto the beach there were lots of gulls swimming about close to the shore. Mostly little black headed ones as far as I could tell. Tide on its way out but still quite high. There was a bit of a swell yesterday and plenty of waves and a lot of the small strip of beach available to walk on was strewn with seaweed, especially the area in front of the Fishermen's huts where the gap in the rocks allows the boats to go in and out and be moored safely. A few pieces of Sea Glass, but nothing very special. I had remarked to Apothecary7 yesterday that today might be a good day for Sea Glass.

Not a soul to be seen at the Fishermen's huts today. The hut roof looks to have had its repairs completed, and I expect there could be painting soon! I took my time looking around and made sure to get another shot or two of the corrugated iron blipped yesterday in case it is removed.

In the middle of the area where the boats and tractors sit it looks like someone has been working on one of the tractors or has at least disturbed the pile of parts. I took some shots, and from those I have chosen today's blip. I suggest you might like it in large. A discarded rusty tractor part with some interesting and rather intense paintwork :-)

For anyone remotely interested in the family history research challenge I mentioned setting myself recently, I made a breakthrough late yesterday afternoon. I came across a document in my own 'database' of resources that gave me the break I needed. The document, concerning deaths in Walls (the southern Parish of the Island of Hoy) and Flotta, was sent to me by a contact (we share distant ancestors) in Australia a while ago. Challenge complete. All will be revealed later in the year. I know ... you can hardly contain your excitement :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.