Twa Pehs.

There are occasions in life when the thought of a mutton pie served with baked beans and HP sauce becomes a craving that demands a response.
This can be difficult if one's partner in life is an avowed vegetarian, but nothing daunted I persuaded His Lordship through the portals of this sanitised butcher's shop to ask for "twa pehs an' an ingin ane an aw" which translated from the Dundonian dialect with which HL is familiar, means "two pies and an onion one as well".
The onion one for the vegetarian became a quiche, straight from the oven, but I got my mutton pie.

We were on our way back from a routine visit to the dentist- she of tender years with glossy hair and gleaming teeth and wielding immense torturing power with her mirror and sharp pointy tool;the same lady who is intent on finding a crumb of breakfast hidden in some remote crevice between my teeth and also giving me, at an eye watering amount of shekels, a crown on a broken tooth. Somehow or other I have managed a stay of execution on that for another 6 months- February seems a comfortingly long way away.........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.