pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Barnes Yard, Norwich

Barnes Yard, in Anglia Square. A less affluent and fairly run down part of Norwich. I suspect my Ketteringham ancestors will have taken this route into the city in the early 20th century. The road runs in to Norwich from the north, and perhaps just half a mile from this spot is where my nanna, Bessie Violet Ketteringham, was born, in 1900. Her generation would have grown up in and surrounded by the famous Courts and Yards of Norwich. This road, like many others that I blipped earlier in the year, still has signs that the courts and yards were here. This existing yard, bears no original features of the once over-populated slum, it once was. I must say, it doesn't look much better now. Just along this road, several people sleep rough. It's sad.

Today I managed to get everything I wanted to do, all done by lunchtime. Then a fruitless wander around more shops, resulted in no swimming costume purchase! I figured, if I'm going to spend money I dont really have, then it has to be on something I love. I didn't love (or even get close to it) any of those I tried on, White Stuff was ok, but not £37.50s worth of ok. So I've decided I'll wear old bikinis and put a t shirt over them!! Sorted!

Back to the office, and it was desk move time. How does one individual (who has genuinely been trying hard not to hoard stuff) manage to accumulate so much crap in just 15 months??? It took all afternoon.

I left at 5.45, and now have a lovely 2 week break! Traffic was heavy and I arrived home at 7pm. I sat in the car, on my drive, to listen to the Archers, then went indoors at 7.15. Everyone has their bags packed except me. So after a 'before we go on holiday' chat on the phone to Manda (who has a holiday to the exotic destination of Cuba with her family in just over a week), I prised everything I own into a very large holdall, plus 2 handbags and lots of shoes, and now I'm ready!

Just checked on the chickens, and for the first time this week they have worked out where their new bedroom is! Now they just need to start laying again.....

Bedtime now. Busy day ahead....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.