Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Feeding

Oh dear, another week to back blip! Not a single day goes to plan. I'm here, there and everywhere. Any remaining time  is filled with last minute whims. catch ups or call outs. Did I ever mention that I thrive on caos!
I may not have a routine but this little Wren most certainly does.

Every 4 minutes circa, the parents visit the nest with grubs for their young. Not the best of photos as there is no practical view of the entrance from the ground and no way of rigging up anything without risking the birds abandoning their chicks.  I had to leave the kitchen door open and try to take the shot through a black fly curtain I put up when I first noticed the building of the nest, not so much for the flies but so I can leave the door open without disturbing the birds. Human builders weren't as conscientious, failing to fill the space around the beam that supports the roof, they left room for a nest, just inches above the door.  When I noticed Mr Wren flying in and out I tried to limit it's use although I doubted it would be used.  

As a child, a pair of Robins built a nest on the pelmet in the dining room of  my grandparents house but I've never considered a Wren to be so brave as to come so close to humans, more so as I live in the countryside where there must be a thousand more suitable spots. Neither had I considered the nesting habits of the Wren further than the basics that I had learnt as a child, which was that they nest in crevices.  My curiosity grew as I watched the nesting material enter the tiny space. I found a few articles about them, my favourite being this one from the BTO.

The next step is to keep my eyes open for the fledglings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.