I found one!

We took an hour out this afternoon and went for a walk to the Upper Waterfall in the Park.  More water than we've seen there before, but not an lot by Blue Mountain standards.

These are one of the tiniest orchids you would ever see.  About the size of half a little finger nail, but of course once you have your orchid eyes on and spot them - they are everywhere.

But, it's the first one I've ever seen, and I just love it.  It's a Helmet Orchid, (Corysanthes diemenica) taken in the Belair national Park.  They are flowering late this year because it's been so cold and wet.  And of course I had the wrong lens entirely being the 70-300mm, and I needed to get close so I'll probably go back with a macro lens and do better.  I had to commando crawl backwards and backwards to try and get it in focus.

And talking about the weather, you wouldn't believe it but I'm in a t-shirt and short sleeves, although I'll be donning the cardy very soon as it's getting chilly again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.