Wild Flowers on Holt Drive

I noticed the stands of wild flowers by Wood Brook on Holt Drive while driving past the other day. I don't know whether it's university or council land but someone has obviously had the good idea to let the wild flowers grow. In fact, probably sowed the seed in the first place.

Colin, on the bus yesterday, had also seen them and urged me to go and take photos. He said several photographers had been there already.

Basil and I went early in the afternoon. It wasn't sunny but there was a good light. In fact, better to have the sky softbox than bright sunshine and shadows.

It was solace to the soul to gaze on them. I'd taken flash units as well as different lenses to try taking ways of taking photos. This was a multi-exposure in camera using a short to medium telephoto lens. The wide angle would have captured too much of the scene that I didn't want. 

There are so many photos. I can't include here all that I took, but I'm posting several to an album on Flickr.

Home for a snooze in the conservatory when George came in and woke me up. Nice to see him. 

Was pleased by the results of the workshop in Nottingham last night. The model, Daniella Allfree, makes it so easy for the photographer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.