Photographing the Mayor

I'd noticed roadside posters for a Flower Festival at the weekend. The question was, where?

Basil and I walked across the road to St Peter's Church, Trusthorpe. All shut up. So we walked back and there in the window of the park shop was a notice saying the festival was being held in the Methodist Chapel. But where was that?

Many thanks to the lady on reception who did find it, thanks to Google. Google on my phone wasn't obliging me.

It wasn't far away and Len drove us there.

Hardly had we got into the chapel when we saw the first deputy mayor of Mablethorpe and Sutton on Sea being photographed with his wife and the organiser of the festival. The photographer was using flash. I just increased my ISO.

After admiring the displays, which showed much creative imagination and work, we went to the tea room which was doing a roaring trade. We chose tea and salad. Who should pop his head round the door but the first deputy mayor? I know he was the first deputy mayor because he told me. He said he'd seen me taking photos, which I showed him on the back of the camera. He doesn't want this one because the photographer is in it but another one is acceptable.

He told us he would be officiating at the switching on of the Mablethorpe lights and setting off the fireworks at 10 pm. Len and I resolved to see this.

There was dessert! I'd seen plates of delicious looking pavlova cake coming through only to be disappointed when they'd sold out. Actually, they hadn't quite. I told the waitress that I couldn't eat anything else and she gave me the last portion. Deliciously home made.

Then to Sutton on Sea to sit on the prom to try taking sneaky pictures of people as they passed by. Len took Basil for a walk.

Half past nine, and we wrenched ourselves away from watching The Hobbit, part 2. We'd done a recce while it was light and found a perfect spot to stand on the prom at the border between Trusthorpe and Mablethorpe. Hardly anyone else there at all. Another photographer chose to go on to the beach.

I decided to use my long lens as the festivities were a mile distant. This turned out not be such a good choice as the fireworks were massive. They lasted around five minutes. See the extra for an example.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.