Bluedot - Sunday

A few months ago, the Minx pointed me in the direction of a piece of music she thought I might like. It was an accompaniment written to go with the sound of 40,000 bees for Wolfgang Buttress's sculpture 'The Hive'. And she was quite right; I loved it, not just for the music but for the story that went with it

Today, there was not only a performance of the music - which you can buy on the album 'One' by Be - but a talk by Buttress and his collaborator (and caretaker of the 40,000 bees), Dr Martin Bencsik. We went to both and for me it was the perfect crossover between science and art, although I must say - and perhaps it's just my age - that standing up in a warm tent is not the best way to appreciate ambient music.

I'd decided that I'd give Everything Everything another go when they played the main stage in the evening. I didn't enjoy them much when the Minx and I went to see them last year but everyone keeps raving about them so I thought maybe we'd just been to a duff gig. But no, it was just the same, although the fact that everyone else appeared to be enjoying them made me think, well, maybe it's just me.

Instead, I headed over to the Orbit Stage to watch Steve Mason, late of the Beta Band. I must say, I didn't have high hopes which is perhaps a good frame of mind in which to see a performer for the first time. And, as it turned out, he was fantastic. Much like the Beta Band's material, his off the wall pop is immediately enjoyable without being obvious. He had a great, versatile band and also a good line in inter-song banter (reminding me of Julian Cope at his best).

He finished with 'Words in my head', which was brilliant. Everyone in the tent seemed to be dancing, raising their hands during the chorus in a perfect festival experience. What a great way to finish, musically at least.

After that we went for a stroll around the gardens, which includes the orrery photographed above. How I wish I'd had my proper camera instead of the iPhone! We haven't spent enough time in this space over the weekend, although the kids and I met up with Simon, today, and had a walk around. By night, though, it's totally different and very magical.

And, of course, I finished the day sat outside the tent with a drink, watching Eno's installation on the Lovell telescope. I knew this would be the last time I would see it - under these circumstances, at least - which pulled at my heartstrings a bit - but eventually the lure of bed was too much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.