Council Cubism

I can honestly say that I am full of admiration for Chorley Council. Despite the occasional bursts of displeasure aimed in their direction by the otherwise immensely enjoyable ‘Chorley Then And Now’ Facebook group, I wish I could bottle the vim that their council has and donate it to South Lakeland District Council (i.e. my local crew).
 
Once upon a time, these traffic islands, on the pleasingly wide Park Road, had brick built plant holders. However, by means of some impressively approximate driving – which I can imagine might have been the consequence of a happy evening spent at the Parker’s Arms – both have now been reduced to cubist interpretations of their earlier form.
 
I suppose the obvious response to this would have been to reconstruct them but I salute Chorley Council for leaving them as the rockeries into which they were rendered by their unintentional landscape gardeners.
 

It’s a post-modern, irony-saturated world in which we live, where sarcasm represents the coppers in our intellectual currency, so I am sure this reads like some sly dig at Chorley’s council but I can assure you my admiration and affection is genuine: these guys are the bomb.

****
-9.8kgs
0 words

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.