Nike Free

Last August I bought some Nike Free 5.0 running shoes. I'd heard various scare stories about running in shoes with thin "barefoot" soles but I'd also read - in Christopher McDougall's 'Born to Run' - that thick, padded soles stop the "sensors" in your feet being able to pick up important information to pass back to your brain. Indeed, a study showed that the thicker your soles, the more likely you are to have a running injury.

Anyway, I started with them quite tentatively but they've never given me any problem even on long runs. A couple of months ago, I was chatting to the chap in the shop at David Lloyd about the Loch Ness marathon and he suggested I should get another pair of shoes rather than run the risk of having to break in a new pair close to the event.

I know what you're thinking: excellent sales spiel, but the shop there doesn't sell the Nike Frees. I mentioned to him that I didn't think Nike made the 5.0s anymore and, while I was swimming, this excellent chap had a Google around for me and found the replacement, the Nike 'Free RN'.

It is a very similar shoe and I've enjoyed running in them but the sole has been restyled such that although it has a honeycomb pattern that resembles the 5.0s, it is different. And, most notably, it picks up a lot more clutter!

****
-13.0 kgs
0 words
Reading: ‘A History Of Seven Killings’ by Marlon James

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.