I don't need roads

By Jazz_Pirate

#SecretAdventureTime

A month or so ago when the end of term was but a pipe dream, Jen announced she had booked us a surprise holiday because she's awesome and also because I'm crap at being organised.
The weeks passed and I tried not to think about what it could be, I love but equally freak out a little at surprises and the unknown.
I'm glad I waited, the day came and we boarded a train - I hadn't looked at the destination, London.
We stayed in a cool little AirBnB apartment in Brixton right behind the prison (cool pokemon there too).
The surprises then just kept on coming, we saw Jherek Bischoff in an amazing small sweaty basement gig. Bischoff had a string quartet which sounded beautiful. David bowie covers came next and a string version of Life on Mars gave me chills. Then Amanda Fucking Palmer came on stage, they were rehearsing for the BBC proms. AFP played some of her hits and then Space Oddity (I may have shed a small tear, Ashes to Ashes, Purple Rain, and ended on an overly warm but amazing crowd singing along to Heroes. Amazing once in a lifetime experience.
Buzzing from the gig we made our way home singing and catching Pokemon.
Next up: Book of Mormon at the theatre. Absolutely hilarious had me doubled over crying with laughter; I'd recommend it to everyone (unless you're easily offended).
Vegan and vegetarian food was eaten and was damn tasty (see Instagram I don't wanna ramble on).
Met up for beers with some lovely people and caught yet more Pokemon then onwards to Part 2.
As if the surprises hadn't been amazing enough already, we boarded a train to Brighton.
Staying at the Hotel Pelirocco, a rebound Rock and Roll hotel Jen had seen years ago in the back of the NME. A fantastic themed hotel, we had the Leigh Bowery room, performance artist designer and fashionista.
Brighton was a beautiful laid back place with a Sheffield (but better) by the sea vibe. I could definitely live here.
We ate vegan food, caught Pokemon of which there were tonnes of new ones to be seen.
On our final night we both caught a Pikachu, yaaaaasssssss.
And now here we are on the train home, stuffed full of food with a head (and phone memory) full of amazing memories. Thanks to Jen and her amazing and ability to organise, it's been fucking incredible. Love her to bits I'm incredibly lucky.
4 hours until Ziggy cuddles commence (and an instagram feed full of pics of her being grumpy at me for leaving her alone).
Here's to more adventures with Jen this summer. Who knows maybe I'll get my arse into gear and organise something haha.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.