ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Morris.

Back to my usual self at last. Whatever that bug was, it had me in its grip good and proper. Today was a lovely 'foody' day though, to make up for my lack of appetite over the last few days. M and I slept late, then I got up and made us pancakes. M had his with bacon and maple syrup, and I had mine with raspberries - perfect Sunday breakfast! After a cup of coffee, I made a tray of mini scones while M got ready, and then we headed off to the classic Jaguar show at Drum Castle. I took lots of photos of the Jags, but I think I liked this Morris Minor best (every year the Jaguar club invites another car club to join in; it wasn't just one rebel Morris Minor)!

It rained and rained and rained as we ate our lunch in the car, and after dragging out the fruit course for as long as possible, we decided just to head on home, to present M's Granny and Grampa with the mini scones I made earlier. They seemed to go down very well with the Great-Aunt and M's Mum and Dad too, so I'll make those again (Delia Smith, heroine of the kitchen). In a brief patch of sunshine we decided to head to the beach for a walk, but it rained as soon as we got out of the car and after a brisk walk trying to ignore the dampness, we gave up and decided to go for a drive instead. We were aiming for a car park at Durris which M and I remembered as having a lovely view; in fact on our very first date, M drove me out there on a lovely sunny day in the Triumph TR7 with the top down. 3 years ago, we knew exactly where it was. Today, we ended up in Stonehaven! Still, it was a lovely drive, despite having the top up for the occasional heavy shower.

Once we got home, M and I made ourselves a full roast dinner with a whole chicken, roasted carrots, roasted potatoes, peas, Yorkshire puddings, stuffing and lots of gravy. It's been ages since we've had a roast dinner and it was great! We watched X-Men on the TV and completely pigged out (there goes the health-kick). Absolutely brilliant weekend; I wish we could do it all over again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.