Apple tree

When I bought my house in 2000, I didn't have any cash left over to do it up, and for a couple of years we lived in what amounted to the lifestyle equivalent of student accommodation. I don't think any of us - me or the girls - minded that; it was deeply satisfying to have a home. But there was a lot I wanted to do with it, so that was a little frustrating.

By 2004, though, I was in a position to completely overhaul the place, including having some decking built, such that one could walk out onto it from the kitchen or living room. At the same time, the highlighly inclined garden was terraced and we* planted an apple tree at the foot of the decking.

It has, of course, grown over the years and now it has passed the top of the rail. The apples are already rosy, although not *quite* ready to eat. (The miniMinx has, like a good scientist, proved this for me, empirically.)

*'We' does not actually include me, as I'm sure it goes without saying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.