Down at the Club

A day when everything seemed to catch up with me and timings were all out of synch. The delivery of some furniture to prompt some organisation and unpacking proved totally overwhelming. I think the boxes that have remained unopened all year may well stay that way a little longer. I think I learned today not to get too carried away by recent progress.

I only got as far as a walk to the cricket club all day. The plan was to go on from there to the writer's group but that plan got scuppered by events. It was good to catch up with eldest son but not so great to witness him struggling further with the bat, poor lad. His long working hours give him no time to net or train at the moment, plus he's also just discovered he has a problem with one of his eyes and now needs glasses. I still think it's harder for me watching than for him out there in the middle. I think he'll only properly understand that when he has his own kids playing sport.

With Roam having started a job in London this last week and unlikely to be playing up here again this year, the whole cricket season has lost its shape. That feeling just added to what turned out to be a quite unsettling day. I guess I was due a 'down'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.