At the Car Boot Sale

Today got off to an early start!
My alarm went off at 6.30am - not my usual one and hideously loud! - and I made a cup of tea and headed to the car boot to meet Mrs Z.
It was the chance to chat in the sun, people watch and get rid of a load of tat. Perfect!
By about 10am I was worried that I wasn't selling as much as normal but it was steady all morning and I ended up with just short of £100. Well worth the early start!
The things that people will buy!! Paper plates from Ikea, hotel toiletries, ice cube trays, Mr K's scratty old shirts......
I got home and planned to spend the afternoon drinking tea and lazing about watching children's films.
The Little Misses had other ideas!
As soon as I waked in they demanded lunch. Because of course Mr K can't get their lunch and they only remember that they're starving to death when they see me!! 
Once they'd been fed Miss E asked could we go to Whizzkids. I was just about to say no when I released I didn't really have a good reason to.
So off we went!
I had expected it to be heaving but it was surprisingly quiet. The Little Misses went off to play then Miss L found 50p on the floor so they spent the next few hours hunting for money (for the bouncy ball machine which mean Mummy wouldn't give them any money for!) Amazingly they found enough - behind machines and under the bouncy castle(!!) - for a bouncy ball each which was quite impressive. If a little yucky!
We got there at 2.30pm and got booted out when they closed at 6pm. They  played (and scavenged) while I carried on with my assignment on my laptop.
I cooked a curry when I got in and was proper tired when I eventually collapsed onto the sofa to eat it. 
Yes, we eat on our knees on the sofa. 
And we have children who scavenge for money!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.