Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Night The Lights

...went out in Georgia  southern Arizona.

I was watching television. Earlier, I had been watching the lightening over thee mountains.  But, frankly, this time of year, there is lightening every night. So I usually just sit and watch it for a while or simply ignore it.  It's not as close as it seems because there is usually no thunder accompanying the bolts or sheets which make night turn into day. 

I heard some rumbles of thunder and flashes of light.  It started to rain...gently at first then hard.  The power went out.  It generally comes back on in a few minutes so I sat and waited.  Nothing.  So I went to bed.

The storm cells seemed to come and go.  Quiet for a while then suddenly big bangs and eye-popping light.  At one point, the thunder sounded like bombs were being dropped on my house.  Eventually, it got quiet, with the exception of the sounds of rain on the bathroom skylight.

I fell soundly asleep. 

I felt a bzzz, bzzz, bzzz, bzzz, bzzz   vibrating through my body and heard a ding, ding, ding, ding, ding .  I had fallen asleep on my iPhone.  I was getting a flash flood warning notification.  I only worry about those when I'm going to be out driving.  Since I was in bed for the night I knew there is an arroyo about 50 yards from my property so I would be safe.

I put the phone on my nightstand and went back to sleep.

My heart goes out to the people in my former state of Maryland who have endured terrible flooding, death and destruction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.