Meg asleep on my tummy!

A week ago on Tuesday Meg was given a prognosis of just a couple of days to live.

I didn't accept that and gave Meg 100% of my time, attention and everything else I could.

On Friday she had improved when the vet saw her next, and I was told that the radiotherapy treatment for her tumour was on again if this improvement continued by Monday. I had prepared photos and videos to show for insurance purposes the extent of her improvement and to fight the case for the funding for this.

The meeting was this morning. And I got the funding for the scan and the radiotherapy.

But, on Saturday, (a couple of days ago) seeing how much fun Meg had on the beach and how improved she was I was starting to think as she had improved so much, and was having quality of life, maybe I would be happy with not going ahead with the radiotherapy and the effects it would leave on Meg, and maybe make her ill again.

I asked for two prognoses this morning. One based on how she is now continuing with pain relief and meds. And one if she continued with the radiotherapy.

I was told the way she was improving, then it would be possible for her to have another few months quality of life with just the pain reliever and meds.

If I went for the radiotherapy option, then it was four weeks of intensive treatment. Meg being ill for some of that time and the trauma that came with it. In fact Meg was already displaying clinical symptoms just being back in the hospital and looking distressed and vacant. The prognosis for this option was again for a few months with the possibility of it being longer.

There was no contest really which option to go for.

I already had decided my choice while I was outside the hospital waiting to go in, and in addition Meg was already getting distressed.

I wanted the options spelt out to me. And what was my option if I decided against radiotherapy for her.

So we have agreed on palliative care at home and seeing another vet nearer home on a fortnightly basis checking her weight and stuff.

As soon as we got out of the hospital, Meg relaxed and went to sleep on the car seat for a few hours. I went to Marks and Sparks because she won't eat the local economy version of cooked chicken, but only the more expensive one. She is worth it isn't she!

Thank you for all your well wishes and everything for Meg. I appreciate them all x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.