Using my inks...

...I made myself, I tried them on canvas board. I didn't think it would work. Research online suggested it wouldn't work but didn't say why.

First of all it takes a few days for the inks to dry on the canvas board...you cannot really work into them until they have dried a bit. Yet I was getting a few unexpected effects despite some problems.

A couple turned really messy...beyond redemption, but others looked a bit more hopeful.

This one, on canvas, was done by the different colours in pipettes and 'drawing' with the pipettes filled with my coloured ink. I was going to work further on it, but I don't want to, at least not at the moment.

I have another tree done in a similar manner also on a canvas board, but when I was running out of the yellow alcohol ink I had made using the food dyes, I found a site that said you could make alcohol inks using acrylics...let me tell you now it does NOT work....so this other tree has yellow ink made with acrylic in the background. It looked awful.

But looking at it today, I have a strange fascination for it. Yet a moment later, I think nah, it's rubbish...

So this tree, as I said in the 4th paragraph, was done drawing the inks on with the pipettes...I have some pipettes with an extra very very thin tube on the end of the pipette. This is the one I am drawing with. I was going to draw on the tree with a black marker, but after a few lines, I blended them out with the isopropyl alcohol. It is finished and yet it is not finished....so I will assume it is finished at the moment, but I could take it out another day and change it. This is all only experimenting anyway.

When I bought the food dyes to make these inks with, I could only get them in gel form. So last few days pictures are using the gel food dye alcohol inks. I have more quantity mixed up, and I will use these up first.

But when I went looking for more yellow food dye, because I was running out of the yellow ink, I then found the more liquid type food dyes. So I bought up loads yellows and some other colours of the more liquid food dyes.

I am wondering if these more liquid food dyes are not so intense in colour. Because the gel ones have been very vibrant, but were hard to mix. So more experimentation when I have done more try outs with the gel food dyes.

This is my pic for today, for my challenge to myself of a pic every day in 2017.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.