Uncropped

I thought about doing this in monochrome and trying to come up with some stretch to link it to the MM theme, but I have decided the colors are just too nice. This dragonfly let me get so close I was truly amazed. I wonder if they begin to slow down a bit as the summer goes on.  This is the second time I have come within inches of one. 

If you have the time, please take a look at this in Large and see all the little whiskers. 

Tiny Tuesday 

In preparation for hosting Tiny Tuesday this month, I have put together some of the things that I do to help me get sharp macro insect images with the camera handheld.  I have mulled over how to best approach this and I think that addressing just one or two components per day is probably the best way.

To get this started, I will share something I learned from Emma Davies Online Photography class that many of us have participated in and that particular knowledge has resulted in less struggle for focus. It might seem obvious to many of you, but it was a lightbulb moment for me. 

Tip#1. Know the minimum focusing distance of your lenses.  
I use two lenses for macro shots:  90 mm f/2.8 and a 70-400mm F/4-5.6. There are lots of other things you can use for macro photography in addition to macro lenses, which include extension tubes, close-up filters and for cameras with built-in lenses there is usually a “macro” setting.  

My Sony 90 mm will let me get very close with a minimum focusing distance of 11 inches but if I add a 16 mm extension tube, I can get as close as 6 inches. 

For those insects that are more skittish or that I don’t want to get too close, the 70-400mm will let me get a close-up shot but I have to be at least 5 feet away to be able to focus. I have on occasion added a Canon Close-up filter to this lens and I can get as close as 18 inches, but the DOF is quite narrow and it is hard to capture handheld.  Here is an EXAMPLE of an insect taken with the 400mm lens and close-up filter at about 230mm.

Once I learned and kept in mind that minimum distance, I have been able to focus more accurately and quickly, and have less throw-away shots and less missed shots. It is easy to find the minimum focusing distance online.  You can google your lens or you can look at the specification for your lens on a site like B&H.  Of course, there is always the manual….good luck with that!

Sometimes, when I am struggling to get some tiny creature in focus with that big lens, I find I only have to back up a smidgen and I can nail it.  My struggle was because I was too close.  Just remember your camera and/or lenses will vary from mine so it requires you do a little research if you don’t already know it.  

For tomorrow, be sure to tag your macro and close-up images TT62. I look forward to seeing them all and will post my favorites with my blip on Thursday.  Thanks in advance for joining in!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.