Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Coward

Or more specifically, a yellow bellied dark winged fungus gnat - Sciara hemerobioides
There are a lot of these around just now and I don't remember noticing them in previous years so the weather must have been just right for them.
They are harmless.  Larvae feed on rotting vegetation and the adults feed on nectar - usually from hogweed.


I particularly liked another of my reflection images with the sunset colours from yesterday but it was lacking a small something to provide a focus and added interest.
I therefore took shots of seagulls in flight today and chose one to add.  Unfortunately, I don't think the small seagull is sufficient justification for me to claim the result as today's Blip image.  I have therefore added it as an 'extra' but feel it is the stronger of the two images on offer today.

Please enjoy both.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.