Visiting with Ferdinand

It was a fine foggy morning, but it turns out it was mistier out in the country than it was in town. I visited the Arboretum, hoping to get some mist shots, but in the end, it didn't really work out that way.

I swung through the children's garden, Childhood's Gate, and said good morning to my friend Ferdinand the Bull. You met him for the first time bedecked in a flower.

Ferdinand is a very mellow bull. Or bison. Or whatever. He doesn't have lots to say, just sits there looking . . . peaceful.  On this particular morning, I framed him with one of the many plants growing in the children's garden.

I thought that may be some variety of sweet pea to the right there, but a friend corrects me: it is a runner bean!. And it amused me to see that little tendril reaching out. Almost teasing. Almost touching his nose, tickling him. Why? Why, just for the fun of it, of course!

The song: Sheryl Crow, with All I Wanna Do.


P.S. I remembered to check the Glass House to find the most current tally on how much food has been donated from the vegetable beds in the children's garden to the local food bank. The total as of the end of last week was 348 pounds. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.