Childhood's Gate: The Gardens in Summer

I'm a big fan of Childhood's Gate, the children's garden at the Arboretum, and it is never busier there than it is at high summer. The gardens feature seasonal exhibits much of the year (for instance: tulips! and sunflowers!), but in summertime, the beds are filled with vegetables.

The fate of those vegetables is to be picked and donated to the local food bank. A sign by the door to the Glass House always shows the latest tally; I should have looked so I could have told you how much good they have been doing here. A garden provides food for both body and soul.

The misters were going full speed when I was there, which I always find charming, as the lovely arcs of water droplets make fun additions to photos. But you have to watch your camera; don't want to get it wet!

The colorful transformational canopy that heralds the entrance to Childhood's Gate is in the middle of the frame. Just to the left in front of it is the garden kaleidoscope I love to play with.

My only regret is that at this angle, I couldn't include the bison I always think of as Ferdinand; he's outside of frame to the right, hidden behind some greenery. But it is enough that we know he is there, his gentle spirit watching over these peaceful gardens in every season.

The soundtrack: Tangerine Dream, with Zen Garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.