pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Swimming Pool Selfie

During a blissfully warm day, we managed a family dip in the perfectly sized pool. Perfect, because you don't need to feel guilty about not swimming (I don't do sport - especially on holiday) and you can just dip in to cool off. So that's what Jon & I did. The kids, meanwhile, spent a lot longer in there together, going round in circles until the water resembled a giant whirlpool. I got in at this point and it just took me round, like a sink being emptied.

We've had sun today, so stayed at 'home' all day to enjoy it. The space we have with this gite is amazing. Our host couldn't be any more kind and considerate. Today he dropped off 3 giant courgettes and 3 giant beetroot, spare in his veg patch. I hope to blip him once I've got to know him a bit better. I would say once I'm sure he isn't going to consider me some strange woman....but that may take longer than 2 weeks!

Everyone is reading a lot. Even Henry. Jon has nearly finished his second book, but assures me it isn't a competition! I am 1/3 of the way through my Penny Vincenzi, and would hope to finish it this week. I do get distracted though, and like to do other things. I may even write a poem, just not sure exactly what about yet.

Tomorrow it's certain rain, and a cooler day, so we plan to visit Poitiers. Shopping for souvenirs plus to seek out some historical spots. I'm told it is the main area where the battles of the 100 years war took place. Jon has an interest in the archers, especially the english long bowmen (not to be confused with 'The Archers' of Ambridge)

We will see what we can find. Enjoying the evening sun outside, before the weather turns. More games indoors tonight. Rummy & whist seem like the current favourites, plus 'go fish'. One game of scrabble took so long, we aren't rushing to play it again!

The pool selfie was a miracle we were all in and looking at the camera. I was desperate not to drop my phone, but the sun was in everyone's eyes, so I couldn't tell if we were in it or not! And if you are wondering, without an all in one costume, I've even resorted to my old bikinis.....but only the ones with big 'hold you in' knickers!! Lol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.