pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Another chilled out day in France

I woke at 9 and as the forecast had predicted, it was cloudy. I made tea for two and took it back to bed in no hurry to do anything much. At 10 after nearly an hour catching up with what you lot have been doing, via our favourite social network site, I got up!

It was breezy as well as dull, but not cold. At 11, we decided we'd all go for a walk. Richard had mentioned the stepping stones, a walk across the fields. We didn't get directions, but found them anyway. Le Thouet is the river. Our miniscule hamlet of Bois Mort, just 6 homes (with 1 to 4 being the gites) sits above it, and the walk was a pleasant one. We realised, after we had set off, how warm it actually was!

Well when we got there, I just had to take a photo or two. Then we crossed. Everyone ahead of me. Huge boulders to stand on, I didn't foresee any problem....until I was half way across, that is. I must have had a panic attack. Just thirty five short years ago, I was cartwheeling on a beam 4inches wide, in front of large judging audiences, but something stopped me today. Jon came to my rescue, and held my hand across the remaining stones......and back again!!

We were out for nearly 2 hours, and the clouds remained. After lunch (indoors for the first time) we drove into Parthenay. This is our closest larger town. We parked in the centre then just walked. Eventually we found the old part, a ruined castle, and the quaintest medieval looking streets. I took loads of photos. But no one was about. A few shops, a few bars, but no people. After an ice cream, it was E Leclerc again for more provisions...well barbeque stuff, plus wine, beer and chocolate mostly. I hate cooking.

Now we are all reading in the garden. Then it will be games indoors before bed. Perhaps Uno tonight....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.