The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

From the Cotswold Way

Our friends Jon and Symon came over today with their dog Dilbert. We headed off into the hills to find the Cotswold Way, which is a long distance walking trail that runs 103 miles from Chipping Camden in the North, to Bath in the South.

We avoided yesterday's muddy patch and struck out along the ridge, overlooking Bath and the suburb of Weston one one side, and towards Bristol on our right. Walking conditions were good, and we met several other dog walkers.

Eventually we dropped down off the trail, towards Weston centre. It's a bit rundownnow, but we found some of the old, fine buildings and a churchyard in which to eat our ice creams!

In the morning, I had a good experience. I discovered the Thai grocery store in Weston, and then an independent charity shop. I asked the owner were I could find local information, and whether she could recommend any care homes that might have fetes where I could sell my cards. She told me that she herself was trying to get together a group to regenerate the High Street and improve local trading opportunities! She suggested two care homes, and I visited one, and came away with a date for a future sales visit. I went back to the shop to thank the owner, and asked her if she had a basket I could buy for display purposes, as I had left all mine in Stroud. She then offered to lend me one of hers! So kind.

By then I had of course spent a tenner in her shop, but all my goods were surplus Per Una or John Lewis. What's not to like?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.