ABSTRACT THURSDAY - MY CHOICE

If there are flowers in the garden, when I am taking part in the Abstract Thursday challenge, I do like to include those in my Blip.

Today I wandered around the garden - and yes, I was in my pink robe, because it was only just after 8 o’clock - and was pleased to see my Paul’s Scarlet rose hiding behind the wrought iron bird feeder.  I had pruned it very hard a couple of years ago, as it was rambling right along our blue fence, and had got rather out of hand, so last year, it didn’t flower much at all and this year, it has taken a while to get established.  

A quick flick of the wrist with the camera and hey presto, an abstract - I actually preferred the one I have put in as an extra, but Mr. HCB liked this one best, because he said in the other one you could still see it was Nigella, so as he is such a good model/mentor, I thought I would listen to him!

The decluttering continues apace - charity shops didn’t want our two teak Nathan wall units because they had marks on them (apparently, even for charity shops these days, furniture needs to be pristine) so decided to use them in our garage to tidy that up - we spent all afternoon yesterday doing that.  I was very tired by the end of the day, but mission almost accomplished - now Mr. HCB needs to sort through some screws, nails and old tools and decide what needs to go, then we are almost done - in fact, we probably have the tidiest garage in the street!

“Abstraction allows man 
     to see with his mind 
          what he cannot see physically 
               with his eyes.  
Abstract art enables the artist 
     to perceive beyond the tangible, 
          to extract the infinite out of the finite. 
It is the emancipation 
     of the mind. 
It is an exploration 
     into unknown areas.” 
Arshile Gorky - 1904-1948
Armenian born American painter
You can see some of his artwork here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.