FLOWER FRIDAY

Sadly the rain is taking its toll on the flowers in the garden, and this little rose has been rather battered, but it is still beautiful.  It is my David Austin “Queen of Sweden” rose and tends to get rather “leggy” but if it is pruned and looked after properly the flowers are beautiful, and the fragrance is wonderful, so the best of both worlds really.

If you look at the leaves though, you will see that something has been having a little nibble and I did find quite a lot of ants on the rose bush.

It is now on my kitchen windowsill where I can look at it, enjoy its beauty and the fragrance.  Looking at the rose though, made me think how easily we “toss aside” anything that isn’t quite perfect - from big businesses and supermarkets who throw away  fruit and vegetables that are the “wrong” shape to people who cannot accept others who have any sort of flaw.  It is said that beauty is in the eye of the beholder - perhaps we should all be looking for the beauty instead of the flaws - just saying!

Shame says, 
     “Because I am flawed,
          I am unacceptable.”
Grace says, 
     “Though I am flawed
          I am cherished.”
        

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.