Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Foxy lady

We've lived here for more than 20 years and for much of that time we've shared our estate with a family of foxes. The mother and father raised several litters. They were fine animals and not too shy. But a little while ago the vixen was knocked down and killed by a car.

There are still foxes about.They come in to our garden quite a lot late at night and have been known to steal our fish food. But I don't see them on the hill so often where we have some common land and woods.

This evening, coming home in the old Jeep with Pippa in the back I saw this vixen on the grass. I think she must be looking at Pippa behind me. I wound the window down and reached for the camera and there was just time for one shot before she was off. Sadly it's not pin sharp, probably due to the vibration of the engine which I should have turned off.

I had some nice flower shots and maybe should have blipped this other foxy lady, but I haven't blipped a fox here yet. Next time I must remember to switch off the engine.

I wrote a couple of Olympic Games-inspired blogs today, one on blubbing and one on that man, Ben Ainslie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.