More nuts

Best viewed *larger*

Although this was taken through my study window! A male great spotted woodpecker. It took stealth to creep up & position the camera through the window, any small movement & it would fly off... I just about managed it! Weather has been horrendous, cold, wet, & so windy & nothing is around at all, not even one bumble bee for an emergency blip, so am glad the woodpecker turned up when it did as I was beginning to despair!

As for Mr Robin:

Larry goes green

Just before 1pm today, my dad said he heard an almighty bang, but didn't really take much notice. By chance he happened to look outside through his bedroom window not long after & alerted me that there was a crash on the main road. We both watched the scene unfold for over an hour. A car had crashed into a lorry, as in literally underneath & the driver was trapped. 4 fire engines, police, ambulance & the Devon Air Ambulance attended the scene. They had to cut the car apart to get at the driver, who was then flown to Derriford Hospital, Plymouth, with, according to one story, life changing injuries. I was standing there watching & tweeting at the same time.... & my tweets appeared on the news story, plus my photo I took of the scene from my bedroom window:

Man seriously injured

Oh the power of Twitter... ok & the fact I'm friends with local journalists on Twitter... just goes to show you though, how you have to be careful of what you tweet & most importantly how safe you must be when driving, don't take any chances! These roads round here are so dangerous & really should be 40mph not 60. How the driver crashed into the lorry, I'm not entirely sure, my only guess is that he was overtaking the lorry, but then another car was coming up the opposite direction & he tried to stop but the lorry had already slammed on the brakes? I could be entirely wrong of course & this is only speculation.

The road is still closed in both directions. They've removed the mangled car & the police are still there. I really hope the driver survives this!!!

xxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.