Philly on the Fence

Dear Diary,

A few days ago it was Hoover calmly sitting on the saucer, paws on the rim of the cup, just regarding his world.  Today it is Philomena.  I saw her sitting on the fence in front of the house, little paws holding on.  How cute, I thought.  I went away and did a few things and when I came back she was still there!  Looking right, looking left...just sitting!

I didn't actually time it but it was well over five minutes before she finally made a giant leap to her left and disappeared into the ferns.  Of course, my metaphorical mind started making its own leaps.  Fence sitting is what we call people who can't make up their minds.  Like the person with one foot on the dock and one foot in the boat.  At some point you have to commit to one or the other or you will end up in the water!

Like the old country song says, "if you don't stand for something you'll fall for anything."  What made Philly take that leap, who knows but she flew off the fence like she had wings.  It really made me smile.  You go girl, I thought!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.