The Bench Less Sat Upon

The Road Less Travelled for the more sedentary!

Not too many takers for the view from this bench. Everyone is watching the Olympics. Everyone is talking about the Olympics. There is a hell of a buzz on in Britain at the moment. I've never been particularly nationalistic but I can't help but get caught up in all this medal fever. I've enjoyed catching some action from events that I never see in any other context, but it's the velodrome and the track which is my main interest. And that got quite serious tonight.

To see Jessica Ennis in the Heptathlon and the GB boys in the team pursuit today made me feel very proud to be British. And I mustn't forget Victoria Pendleton either - not that I ever could after seeing that photograph I linked to yesterday! Raw talent combined with incredible hard work combined with astonishing focus and attention to detail. To see it all come together on the day has been amazing to watch.

I've treated myself to an Olympics Sportfest tonight and make no apologies for not spending any time on blip. It's been the most wonderful tonic at the end of a hard week. I mamaged to get all the code I've been writing this week working today. Perhaps I've been inspired by the athletes. I've been in my own little programming bubble, more in the zone than I've been in ages, and I've actually achieved a great deal.

On the other hand, though, I've not felt like much of an athlete commuting to work on the bike. My energy levels still seem very low after that week in the Pyrenees. I feel like I should be flying with all that training, but the legs are still feeling heavy. No idea what that's about? I'm trying not to worry about it. I've always found it impossible to be on top of all aspects of my life at the same time. There is always one that is suffering - and that appears to be the physical side at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.