Shadow and Reflection

It's probably just as well I'm in full-on work mode at the moment because I could otherwise see myself frittering away the whole day in front of the television. I've been incredibly impressed so far with the Olympics. The organisation and the support for the events has been exemplary as far as I've been able to see. And the TV coverage is so extensive. It's amazing that you can tune into just about any event to watch the drama unfold wherever it is happening.

And drama there has certainly been today. Medals won and lost on the slimmest of margins and cruelest of technicalities. The Games holds up such a mirror to all of human life, its triumphs and its disappointments. In a way, I have mixed feelings about such tiny differences in the final score or time making such a huge difference to whether a performance is seen as a success or a failure, but the way that perception pivots on such minute details is what makes the whole spectacle so enthralling. Four years of intense preparation can be lost in a momentary slip of concentration.

Finally, I was in awe first thing this morning of a set of photographs of some of our Olympic athletes. I can't remember seeing anything so stunningly beautiful and inspiring for a very long time. The human body is quite extraordinary. Look here. I promise you won't be disappointed! I want to take pictures like these!!

PS Just noticed that my year ago shot is one of my personal favourites. It's lovely how this feature jogs the memory - although it is a little worrying that is a whole 12 months in the past!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.