Top Cairn

Another intense day at the office so I needed to come up for air from the computer this evening. I was going to head out on the bike but just as I was about to get ready a heavy shower passed through, which was enough to get me to change my mind and I headed out for a run on the moor instead. At least the temperatures were more summery today, even if the weather is still very unsettled. Yesterday felt more like an October day than a July one!

Ever since coming to Ilkley over 20 years ago I have had sight of this cairn from the house where I've lived. Sitting on the skyline it commands a wonderful view of the town. I always stop here a while to take in the vista and appreciate just how lucky I am to have this spot just 15 minutes or so away from home. I've no idea how many times I've run up here but it must be getting close to a thousand by now - which is an amazing thought. I've even been up here on crutches a few weeks after breaking my leg! It's one of my most favourite and special places. Rather oddly, I'm pretty sure this is the first time I've blipped from here (although I do now remember this almost blip in my blipfolio.

Finally, mention has to be made of Bradley Wiggins and his time-trial ride today. To win gold in such style while carrying the burden of so much expectation was amazing. His incredible engine combined with an astonishing work ethic makes him just about unbeatable on a level playing field. I suspect all betting will be suspended for the BBC Sports Personality of the year. I'm not sure if it's worth anyone else turning up! Another fantastic day for British Cycling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.