The Tongue

I never realized that Flickers had such long tongues. Or that they used them to move water into their bills while drinking. Now I know. It took me awhile to decide which photo to post today. I'll go delete a couple of extras from early days so I can show you the other two I was thinking of using.

It was a busy day today, a good one, and an odd one, all rolled into one. The day began in the usual way with me helping Arvin get ready. He puts his own clothes on but I help him decide which to wear and to go through the steps to take meds, put on hearing aids, insert his one contact lens which acts as his lens in his right eye. I made breakfast as always and fed the cats, cleaned their box, fed the birds. Then we ate and read the paper together. Soon it was time to take him to The Bellingham at Orchard. That was the odd part. I've never had him stay somewhere that wasn't home before. It felt strange to say goodbye and walk out to the car by myself. Arvin will be there for eight days until I get back from art camp.

After I dropped off Arvin I went downtown to participate in the eleventh annual Bellingham Plein Air Paint Out. I've painted in every one and didn't want to miss this one. I found a parking place near Trish's studio building and set up facing the Georgia Pacific site. I quickly painted my first painting. By the time it was done it was time for lunch. So I put my stuff in the car and turned in the painting at Mind Port. Then I went to Goat Mountain Pizza in their new location across the street. 

Louise and her husband Steve were painting near there and we all ate lunch together. Then I went and got my kit and set up near Louise. We both painted the building that Goat Mountain is in. Our paintings look quite different. I didn't take my camera with me so I didn't photograph either of my paintings. Around three I turned in the second painting and headed home. On the way I stopped to take some photographs of the Granary Building which is in mid make-over into a usable building. 

When I got home it was nice not to have to do a bunch of stuff. I sorted through my pictures. And then I decided to take a long walk in the park. It was relaxing to be able to go at my own pace. That's where I took the photo of the Bushtit in the extras. The flicker came by to the deck soon after I got home and I was happy to catch him drinking at our bird bath. Turned into a great day.

I'm leaving for art camp tomorrow morning. I don't know how much uploading and commenting I'll be doing while I'm there. I will certainly take a photo a day but may not get to putting them on Blip until I get home. Have a great week everybody.

Happy note: the Bellingham at Orchard left me a message. Arvin did well his first day. And they love him there because he participates and helps others who need help. I was really happy and relieved when I got the message.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.