Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Extending the series

Two days ago I showed this image of the flower photography exhibition in Bellingham. Thank you for all your lovely comments about my images. Today I felt inspired to add an image to my series.

It was actually very windy outside and it would have been well nigh impossible to photograph outside. I cut one flower spike from our hostas. (They have done very well this year.)

Inside I tried to encourage the flowers to open. I once met someone who had worked for Dame Edna. One of her jobs was to use a hairdryer to encourage the gladioli flowers to open. Hosta flowers were not impressed, or perhaps I was not patient enough!

At home today. Can nearly see desk again.

Realise that there won't be much time to pack next weekend so I need to be organised now!

PS This image was taken with the flower standing a few inches in front of a white board. I had window light to one side and a daylight bulb to the other. I used a 100mm macro lens on the tripod and a shallow depth of field on this occasion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.