Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Finally - making some trees

So today is the day. Finally. Thanks the expert guidance of John McKinsie of the McKinsie Brothers Tree Company (producer of the "machine" ) I made my first trees for the N scale layout. I need plenty of practice but am getting the idea. The McKinsies also have a very good DVD that walks you through the steps.

So the blip is of the machine with a "wound" up row of six trees. I had already clipped the wire but set it back for the photo. I started with 3/4 " plain manila rope and the steel wire. The rope was cut into 2" strips, then unwound until I had smaller pieces like the one in the front. Reverse twisting it loosens the fibers. Then I run a comb through them to separate each. You put a finger full into the machine between the two wire. Keep going until you get the right height. Then start turning the crank. This rotates the wire eventually making a bottle brush of manila piecess (branches).

I cut them into six trees and stuck them in the board in the extra blip. Once I make sixty of these, I can trim the raw shapes into fir tree shape - think tall skinny .hristmas trees. Then paint and flock with fine ground foam.

First however, I want to trim these and stick them on the layout to check scale - height, width, etc to make sure they look "right". Then the paint and flock.

Could not get the extra to work so will post tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.