Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Birthday celebrations

The shops were open, so JR and G were anxious to explore the one shopping area we hadn't been to. There might just be a bargain waiting for them!

We popped over to the marina first. Them to poke about in the shops, and me to stalk Percy the Pelican. Honestly, I watched him for at least half an hour, camera at the ready, knowing that I couldn't leave because that's when he'd take off. The other two thought I was lost again. But he did take off while I was there. And flew away from me! But I've got a not-quite-in-focus shot of his back view.

There were shouts and pointing from people on the nearby bridge - a sting ray in the water!

However, the morning was not all lost, as I had the best scone ever. Have I said this before? This was it. I almost forgive them the muzak they played outside! Almost, but not quite! Unforgivable.

Another coffee and papers at the unexplored shops while the professional shoppers did what they like best. Then back home to change, pick up the bottle of champagne and walk down to the river for a birthday tea.

It's JR & G's birthday on the same day (though not yet). Instead of dinner in a restaurant, we had fish and chips down by the river. Noosa restaurants haven't done too well out of us!

I quite liked the way the plastic wine glasses look like the best posh crystal! The wine was delicious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.