Contemplation

Where better to sit in silent contemplation than on the side steps of St Giles Cathedral where the notices leave it clear that there should be no buskers or fringe performers occluding the egress from the doors. I could be tempted to sit there myself if I were a visitor and not a resident of the Festival City and liable to be recognised.
Certainly it would be quieter and less fraught than struggling through shoals of humanity following in the wake of some foreign speaking tour leader holding aloft a coloured umbrella or some other recognisable beacon.

It was so congested this morning anywhere nearer the Royal Mile than the Dower House, that His Lordship and I gave up and retreated back the way we had come to sit in peace and quiet contemplation in the new Thomas Walls Café, or as we like to call it, the 'Bellany Café', and watch the holiday makers wend their way into the maelstrom that is Festival Edinburgh.

I'm afraid there may be some day time Olympic television viewing this afternoon.
It's just as well I have a knitting project on the go to keep my hands occupied. Hopefully I will not have to see anything so horrific as watching the Dutch Cyclist in the lead for Gold yesterday fly over the handlebars on that dangerous descent and lie prone and still at a frightening angle at the side of the road. HL and I thought it was a fatal accident, but happily she lives to tweet and say she is alive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.