Summer's Treats: Pennsylvania Sweet Corn!

Well, goodness gracious, lord-have-mercy, it's that time of year again. I've watched the green and golden corn stalks grow taller and taller in the summer heat. When I took that corn photo on Thursday morning, my mouth was watering. I knew it would soon be time to eat it. What am I talking about? Good, old-fashioned Pennsylvania sweet corn!

How did we come by this delicious treat? We met a family member for a late brunch at Eat 'n Park in Altoona, and she brought along a bag of gold. Golden sweet corn, that is. From Himmel's in Carrolltown, no less. Butter and sugar. Thirteen ears.

We brought that beautiful sweet corn home and I put it right in the fridge, still in the husks, uncovered, just as they say to do. It's best if you eat it soon after picking. Ideally, the same day, as the sugars start to turn to starches and the taste is not quite as sweet if you wait.

And I thought we WOULD do that. Wait, I mean, and have sweet corn some other day. But at 7:30 pm, I was feeling a bit peckish, and I thought of that sweet corn in the fridge. I threw caution to the wind: "Let's make some of that sweet corn," I said to my husband.

And then I was shucking the corn, and pulling the soft corn silk off each ear. And they were as beautiful as you could ever imagine, so fresh and lovely. The rows and rows of corn organized in such an orderly fashion, with just enough waves here and there to make it . . . you know, artistic.

I photographed the corn, of course. I photographed it six ways to Sunday, until my husband came into the bathroom (that's where the light is best) and demanded the corn from me. Four ears, our first sampling.

It wasn't too long before the corn was done, and my husband brought out ear after ear, as I cut it from the cob, and put on butter and salt. Yes, I am a butter fiend; I loaded it on. I make no apologies. There are a few things in life that DEMAND lots of butter. This is one of them.

Then we ate that tender, delicious sweet corn, the first of the season, with oohs and aahs, and many sounds of delight. I was spooning it into my mouth, and moaning. Yes, actually moaning.

Was sweet corn ever as good as this, the very first of the year? No, I think not. There was never any better sweet corn than these four ears of golden Pennsylvania sweet corn - right here, in this moment now.

The soundtrack: Carole King, with Sweet Seasons. This version was recorded live at Farm Aid in 1985. Enjoy! 

P.S. Four ears down, nine to go! <--she said with great delight. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.