Going Batty!

Exciting day!

As soon as we had finished cleaning the holiday lodge I phoned The Mate who arrived at our house soon after we did. The caravan was packed and we were soon hitched up and off.

Our adventure this weekend was in the south of Cumbria based at a Caravan Club 5-van site just off the A590.

We had come down here this weekend in order to listen to a talk by Gail Armstrong. She was speaking at Hay Bridge Nature Reserve near Bouth. It was fascinating to listen to all the information she gave us during the slide show but if was very exciting to be shown a couple of pipistrelle bats she was caring for after rescue.

Just as it became dusk we went outside with bat detectors, mine picked up quite a few pipistrelles and a noctule. I was amazed how big the noctule is, I would have thought it was a house martin hunting late.

I was unsuccessful photographing the bats emerging from the eaves of a house but I had already asked Gail if she would let me take some shots of this Common Pipistrelle at the end of the evening.

Our membership fee is being well spent here. Before the talk I photographed a roe deer in the woods and a herd of red deer out on the marshes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.