TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Sun Dappled Courtyard at the Millbrook Playhouse

This is the entryway/courtyard of the Millbrook Playhouse, a local summer stock live theater venue in Mill Hall, PA. A popular entertainment choice during June, July and August, my mother and I spent the afternoon here today enjoying the play Steel Magnolias
Since 1963 Millbrook's rustic barn has played host to professional productions from mid-June through August each year. The main stage theater seats 270 and there is also a Cabaret for more intimate performances.
I love theater, so I try to take in at least one or two shows a season. I had seen the movie Steel Magnolias many times but this was the first time as a live performance. The actresses did a wonderful job and I think it is safe to say an enjoyable time was had by all.
If you would like more information about the Millbrook Playhouse, you can visit their website here: http://www.millbrookplayhouse.net/
If you aren't familiar with Steel Magnolias, it's a very good film/play about the bond a group of women share in a small-town southern community, and how they cope with the death of one of their own...and I highly recommend it.
One of my favorite scenes, towards the end of the film, is a great example of how the film blends humor and sorrow brilliantly. You can view it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=03BPiyoab10

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.