Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A very sad day

Today was the day that we said our final goodbyes to Carla. When I looked back I see that it is nearly a year ago when we wondered how much longer she would live. She has had a lovely year and has thoroughly enjoyed the summer, running in and out of the garden and producing the occasional rabbit and mouse for our delectation!

For the last few weeks she has gradually weakened and become unable to look after herself. Today we agreed was the day. I took her to the vet this evening and he gently gave her an injection. We know this was the best thing for her, but, of course, we are in pieces. She was 17 years old and had been a wonderful companion to Mum all that time. (She was definitely a one woman cat until these last weeks when she was always hungry and realised that I could provide food for her.)

I was in Newcastle this morning for my mental health review. I was discussing with the consultant how hard it is, even now, to be open about having to be treated for mental illness, in my case, depression. I told him I would mention my appointment here, just as I would if it was for a physical illness. We talked about prejudice and how it remains, especially in certain parts of society.

So what to blip?  This is an example of multiple exposure photography in the garden. I knew it would give a misty effect on a day when we are seeing everything through our tears.

Bowlby came to the vet for a check up. He confirmed that there is nothing to be done for her deafness. She is coping with it well. I wonder if she will notice Carla's absence?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.