East Bexington (Wednesday 3rd August 2016)

Mr and Mrs Spotlight Kid and I visited the Sailor's Return in Chaldon Herring for a lunch to celebrate the end of the family estate business that has been going on for the last four years.

This gave me a rare opportunity to see the sea. The Spotlight Kid drove me via the Hardy Monument and Abbotsbury to East Bexington for a walk along Burton Road  beside the coast. As well as seeing the waves crashing onto the shingle and taking the sea air we saw a lot of the kinds of wildflowers you get in that kind of habitat. I was told what most of them were as I took the pictures but of course I haven't remembered most of the thistly-things, brackeny things and umbellifer variations, although I do remember the rather attractive woody nightshade. We also saw a wheatear, a raven and a comma.

L.
9.8.2016 (2006 hr)

Blip #1905 (#2155 including archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #003
Day #2323
LOTD #1140 (#1264 including archived blips)

Dorset series
Coastline series
Landscape series

Taken with Pentax K-50 (Yellow) and Pentax smc P-DA 12-24mm F4.0 ED/AL (IF) lens

A Visit To Abbotsbury, 3 August 2016 (Flickr album)(Work in progress)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Grateful Dead - Alligator (recorded live and in the studio, September-December 1967)
My psychedelic week would not be complete without something from the founding fathers of all things trippy. Alligator is from possibly my favourite of all their albums, Anthem Of The Sun.

One Year Ago:
The British Seaside In August

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.