Wedge-tailed Eagle

What a thrill to catch sight of this huge bird, perched ready for the flight, on the side of the road, being besieged by a couple of ravens. The brakes got slammed on and we went back, only to see Mr Eagle take off, with the ravens in hot pursuit. They landed in this bare tree though, and with the sky beautifully pastel after the setting sun, I was stoked to be able to get some halfway decent photos!
We drove from Bourke to Tibooburra today, through ever sparse and spindly eucalypts, and other vegetation. We saw many wild goats, sheep & cattle (domestic), emus, a couple of water dragons on the road, just dying to have their pics taken (my best side darling?). And kangaroos, hundreds of them, mostly alive but many dead on the road, killed by passing vehicles. As jensphotos mentioned yesterday, they're so easily killed. We came across one that had been maimed, but not killed, so had to stop and put the poor thing out of its misery.
We arrived in Tibooburra after dark, putting up the tent by lights hitched from the car, and enjoyed our dinner in the warm evening air. Did I say warm? It was blissful, compared to the freezing temperatures at the Warrumbungles, with ice on my tent!
I've cranked up the computer to download this image. I wouldn't have managed it on my iPhone.
Thanks for all your lovely comments - it's tricky getting online, so not much commenting back - sorry! This is via a hotspot with my phone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.