Bridge 123c

The weather wasn't so good again today but I had half an hour to spare while waiting for someone in Chester so I dashed over to the canal for another bridge in my Shropshire Union Canal bridge series. 

This is Seller Street bridge near the Mill Hotel. I was surprised by the numbering here as I thought it would have been one of the oldest bridges and have its own number.

While trying to find out something about the bridge I discovered a curiosity. There are rope marks in the metal on the side of the bridge which were made by the taut towline between the horse and boat repeatedly passing the structure. I had never noticed these before but when I looked closely at the photo I realised you can see them on the corner of the bridge.

Incidentally, should anyone want to see the whole series so far just click on the shroppiebridgeseries tag.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.