Nimes, once home to a few Romans

Not s good start to the day as I woke up at 3:15 feeling a little queasy, and when we landed in Nimes at 09:30 local time I was in serious danger of throwing up - it took all my will power not too and believe me it was a close thing. I had even started to eye up possible recepticals and my hat was a firm favourite with Diana's draw string bag a close second. Things did improve but probably not until the early evening when we are at Cafe du Nord in Valon Pont D'arc which was nice because it was the first place that we are in the very first time we visited this part of France 11 years ago and amazingly the menu hasn't changed in all that time.

Before coming out to France I brought some Euros from someone at a favourable rate but they came in 500 Euro notes. I thought little of it at the time but realisation soon struck me, no one is going to want to give change for a 500 Euro note, what's worse as I soon discovered is that people bite them with absolute distrust, they are the currency of choice of gangsters! Luckily the hotel owners Gus and Caroline who know is well as this is our 11 the visit changed one for us I'm hoping to pay the bill with another and when we drop down to the Med to visit Matthew he should be able to change the third. A lesson learned for the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.